New Chair and Vice-Chair elected to CMS Board



CHARLOTTE, N.C. - A new chair and vice-chair of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Board of Education were elected Tuesday evening.

Mary McCray will now serve as chair, replacing Ericka Ellis-Stewart.

McCray is a former CMS teacher and served as vice-chair for the board in 2012.

Tim Morgan was elected as vice-chair. He was first elected to the board in 2009.

Tuesday night the board also voted unanimously on a $12.9 million contract to build a new elementary school.