Channel 9's 2012 'Big 22' players to watch



CHARLOTTE, N.C. - WSOC-TV Channel 9 and High School Football Extra’s Big 22 brought to you by OrthoCarolina announced the 22 high school football players who have been determined as the top pre-season standouts from area high school teams for the 2012 season.   They will be featured throughout the season on Channel 9’s weekly “High School Football Extra” show along with in-depth coverage on  

The first round of voting has been completed.  The five finalists will be announced, and voting to determine the winner will begin Oct. 12 at 3 p.m. Voting ends Oct. 29 at 10 a.m.

Coaches from public and private high schools located in the WSOC-TV, Channel 9 DMA viewing area in N.C. and S.C. were asked to nominate three players from their team and two players from other schools to be considered for the “Big 22.”   The final 22 were selected by the WSOC-TV sports team after reviewing the coach’s nominations and using a set of judging criteria.

 “Recognizing the 'Big 22' players is a great way to showcase these young athletes and demonstrates Channel 9’s ongoing commitment to our community”, said Joe Pomilla, WSOC-TV Vice President and General Manager.  

For the 2012 High School Football season the “Big 22” are: (in alphabetical order by last name)

Emmitt Afam/WR/KR, Cuthbertson High School, Waxhaw, NC
BJ Beecher/QB, Concord High School, Concord, NC
Larenz Bryant/LB, Vance High School, Charlotte, NC
Qua’shaun Chambers/QB, Monroe High School, Monroe, NC
Tyrone Crowder/OL, Richmond High School, Rockingham, NC
Riley Ferguson/QB, Butler High School, Matthews, NC
Bryon Fields, WR/DB, Providence Day School, Charlotte, NC
Elijah Hood/RB, Charlotte Catholic High School, Charlotte, NC
Peter Kalambayi/LB, Butler High School, Matthews, NC
Des Lawrence/DB, Charlotte Christian, Charlotte, NC
Uriah LeMay/WR, Butler High School, Matthews, NC
Marquez North/WR, Mallard Creek High School, Charlotte, NC
Carlis Parker/QB, Statesville High School, Statesville, NC
Devin Pearson/QB, South Pointe High School, Rock Hill, SC
Kalif Phillips/RB, A. L. Brown High School, Kannapolis, NC
Michael Radford/QB, Charlotte Country Day, Charlotte, NC
Devan Robbins/WB/RB, South Point High School, Belmont, NC
Dane Rogers/DE, Crest High School, Shelby, NC
LaChaston Smith/LB, South Iredell High School, Statesville, NC
Jack Tocho/CB, Independence High School, Charlotte, NC
Matt Wogan/K, Porter Ridge High School, Indian Trail, NC
Lee Wright/RB, York Comprehensive High School, York, SC

The “Big 22” players were also featured on “High School Football Extra Kickoff”, a LIVE primetime special that aired Wednesday, August 15 at on WSOC-TV Channel 9.   Watch the entire show, right here.

“High School Football Extra” airs Fridays on Channel 9 at 11:35 p.m.

In 2011, WSOC-TV increased the amount given to the Big 22 Player of the Year’s school to $5,000.    Channel 9 is excited to announce that since OrthoCarolina is partnering with the station in 2012 they are matching the $5,000 which means the 2012 Big 22 Player of the Year’s school will now receive $10,000 for the school's scholarship fund.

WSOC-TV is part of Cox Media Group.

About Cox Media Group

Cox Media Group  is an integrated broadcasting, publishing, direct marketing and digital media company that includes the national advertising rep firms of Cox Reps. Additionally, CMG owns and operates Valpak, one of North America’s leading direct marketing companies.   With $1.7 billion in revenue, the company operations include 15 broadcast television stations and one local cable channel, 86 radio stations, eight daily newspapers and more than a dozen non-daily publications, and more than 100 digital services.   CMG operates in more than 30 media markets and reaches approximately 52 million Americans weekly, including 30 million TV viewers, more than 4 million print and online newspaper readers, and 18 million radio listeners.  For more information about Cox Media Group, please check us out online at