• State regulators issue notices for 5 other Duke Energy power plants


    RALEIGH, N.C. - State regulators have issued notices of violation for five other Duke Energy power plants for failure to obtain a federally mandated National Pollution Discharge Elimination System, or NPDES, storm water permit.

    The notices are part of its ongoing probe into Duke Energy’s coal ash ponds.

    The notices of violation are in addition to two issued at the Dan River power plant in Eden where a failed 48-inch storm water pipe caused a massive spill of coal ash into the Dan River.

    Duke Energy has 30 days to respond to the notices for the storm water violations for all six facilities cited.

    Following the coal ash spill, regulators with the N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources began a lengthy review of the permit status of all 14 Duke Energy facilities across the state.

    DENR officials determined that the company had neither applied for nor obtained storm water permits for six power plants, including the Dan River Steam Station

    The five additional facilities receiving notices of violation are the Belews Creek Steam Station in Rockingham County, Cliffside Steam Station in Rutherford County, Lee Steam Electric Plant in Wayne County, Roxboro Steam Electric Power Plant in Person County and Sutton Steam Electric Plant in New Hanover County.

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    State regulators issue notices for 5 other Duke Energy power plants

  • Headline Goes Here

    Vice President Pence visiting Charlotte, campaigning for GOP, tax law

  • Headline Goes Here

    One in custody after FBI SWAT team raids west Charlotte home

  • Headline Goes Here

    Wells Fargo to pay $1B for mortgage, auto lending abuses

  • Headline Goes Here

    1 injured in shooting at Florida high school