• NASCAR Hall Of Fame Opening Ceremony Schedule

    CHARLOTTE, N.C.,None - NASCAR Hall of Fame officials released the names of NASCAR drivers, owners and executives planning to participate in the Tuesday, May 11 grand opening of the 150,000-square-foot facility in uptown Charlotte, N.C. As part of the historic day, 15 lucky customers will get a once-in-a-lifetime chance to enter the NASCAR Hall of Fame with a NASCAR celebrity.

    Fifteen winners will be randomly selected from the names of everyone who has purchased an annual membership or ticket to visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame on May 11. Tickets must be purchased before 11:59 p.m. EDT on May 4. The first five names drawn will get the unique honor of being the first to walk into the new NASCAR Hall of Fame at 10 a.m. Those five lucky fans will be accompanied by Inaugural Inductees Richard Petty and Junior Johnson, three-time NASCAR Winston Cup Series Champion Darrell Waltrip, 5-time NASCAR Grand National Champion Jack Ingram and reigning NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Ron Hornaday.

    The remaining 10 names drawn will get to enter the venue with a well-known NASCAR competitor at their respective entry time. The NASCAR Hall of Fame is a timed-entry facility, meaning customers enter by appointment at the top of every hour. The 10 lucky fans will enter with NASCAR superstars Kasey Kahne, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch and others. Sweepstakes winners will be notified prior to May 11. Complete rules are available at www.NASCARHall.com.

    "We are looking forward to the opening of the NASCAR Hall of Fame and the opportunity to share this incredible experience with our guests. I vividly recall the first time I met Richard Petty as a young boy and can personally attest that entering the Hall of Fame with these NASCAR stars will be a moment they will remember the rest of their lives," said Winston Kelley, executive director of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. "Not many people can say they were the first ever to walk into a new venue at its ribbon cutting, and it is extra special to walk in with the sport's icons."

    NASCAR Champions and special guests confirmed to participate in grand opening activities throughout the day include Bobby Allison, Johnny Benson, Greg Biffle, Todd Bodine, Chuck Bown, Busch, Richard Childress, Brian France, Steve Grissom, Harvick, Mike Helton, Rick Hendrick, Hornaday, Ingram, Dale Jarrett, Ned Jarrett, Johnson, Kahne, Travis Kvapil, Bobby Labonte, Terry Labonte, Bud Moore, Joe Nemechek, Petty, Mike Skinner, Martin Truex Jr., Rusty Wallace, Waltrip and Rex White. More names may be announced at a later date.

    "To have so many legends and current superstars at opening day demonstrates their belief in the NASCAR Hall of Fame's mission," said Kelley. "Access to NASCAR drivers is signature trait of this sport, and we are proud to provide this stellar lineup of NASCAR celebrities to race fans, the Charlotte community and anyone visiting our city on May 11."

    The one-hour Opening Ceremony will begin promptly at 9 a.m. EDT and culminate with Petty, Johnson, Waltrip, Ingram, Hornaday and five lucky fans officially opening the interactive venue. The opening ceremony will be followed by a free community celebration outside the NASCAR Hall of Fame 10 a.m.-8 p.m. In addition to Bomshel, Lee Brice and Love and Theft concerts, other free outdoor activities will include driver appearances, question-and-answer sessions, autograph sessions, strolling entertainment and food vendors.

    The star of the show that day will be the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Tickets to enter the high-tech, interactive attraction are on sale now and can be purchased at www.NASCARHall.com or by calling 877-231-2010. Tickets are $19.95 for adults, $17.95 for seniors and military, $12.95 for children 5-12 and free for children younger than 5. Memberships provide unlimited entry for one year and start at $25 for children and $50 for adults. Group discounts, facility rentals and sponsorships also are available by calling 704-654-4400.

    Schedule of Events

    *All Times EDT; Subject to Change

    10 a.m.-8 p.m. - NASCAR Hall of Fame Facility Hours (Ticket Required)

    9-10 a.m. - Opening Ceremony on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required;Standing-Room Only)

    10 a.m.-8 p.m. - Community Celebration on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    Celebration includes: Autograph Sessions, Live radio shows, Driver appearances

    10 a.m. - 82nd Airborne All-American Chorus on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    10:30 a.m. - MRN's NASCAR Live with host Eli Gold on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    Noon - Lee Brice Concert on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    5 p.m. - Bomshel Concert on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    7 p.m. - Love and Theft Concert on the Ceremonial Plaza (Free; No Ticket Required)

    For more information on the NASCAR Hall of Fame please visit nascarhall.com.

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    NASCAR Hall Of Fame Opening Ceremony Schedule

  • Headline Goes Here

    Moon enters talks with Trump with driver's seat at stake

  • Headline Goes Here

    Maduro wins Venezuela election challengers call illegitimate

  • Headline Goes Here

    Portuguese director drops out of Israel festival over Gaza

  • Headline Goes Here

    Abbas, 83-year-old Palestinian leader, still in hospital