• NC governor seeks Hurricane Dorian disaster declaration

    RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper is seeking a federal disaster declaration for 13 counties affected by Hurricane Dorian.

    [Bahamians look for loved ones as 1,300 missing after Dorian]

    Cooper made the request to President Donald Trump's administration Friday.

    If approved, money would be available to help with the cost of debris cleanup, repairs or replacement of publicly owned damaged buildings and other expenses. Some nonprofit organizations may receive assistance.

    In a letter to Trump, the Democrat Cooper explains the state has had three confirmed deaths related to the hurricane.

    Dorian skirted the North Carolina coast and made landfall on the Outer Banks, causing tornadoes and flooding and leaving behind collapsed buildings and homes.

    The counties requesting assistance under the declaration are Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell and Washington.

    Next Up: