• Vote 2010: Trickle Of Voters Decide Key Races

    None - Vote 2010 Timeline

    7:30 p.m. Polls close across the state.

    8 p.m. Lincoln County Sheriff Tim Daugherty loses the Democratic primary to Terry Burgin, who received 68 percent of the vote. David Carpenter won the Republican primary with 62 percent of the vote, beating out Marc Walker.

    8:50 p.m. Alan Norman wins the Cleveland County Sheriff Democratic primary with 68 percent of the vote, beating out incumbent Raymond Hamrick, Danny Gordon and Mike Chapman. Don Allen beat David Morrow in the Republican primary with 73 percent of the vote.

    9:15 p.m. Bill Stamey wins the Iredell County Sheriff Democratic primary with 51 percent of the vote, beating out Jeff Cheek. Incumbent Phillip Redmond won the Republican primary with 49 percent of the vote, beating out Mark Nicholson and Phil Blocker.

    9:20 p.m. Incumbent Larry Kissell wins the Democratic primary in the 8th Congressional district, beating out Nancy Shakir.

    9:50 p.m. Democratic incumbent Vilma Leake wins against Beverly Lawston in the Mecklenburg County Commission 2nd District primary.

    9:55 p.m. Republicans Jim Pendergraph, Dan Ramirez and Corey Thompson win in the Mecklenburg County Commission At-Large primary with 30 percent, 24 percent and 13 percent of the vote, respectively.

    10:25 p.m. Democrat Rodney Moore wins against incumbent Nick Mackey in the N.C. House District 99 primary.

    10:25 p.m. Mecklenburg County Sheriff Chipp Bailey beat out Democratic challenger Antoine Ensley with 65 percent of the vote.

    10:30 p.m. There will be a runoff between Republican candidates Tim D'Annunzio and Harold Johnson in the 8th Congressional District. D'Annunzio received 37 percent of the vote, while Johnson received 33 percent.

    10:35 p.m. Republican incumbent Richard Burr wins the U.S. Senate primary with 80 percent of the vote, beating out Brad Jones, Eddie Burks and Larry Linney.

    Thank you for participating in our survey. Did You Vote In The Primary? Did you vote in the primary election? Yes. No.

    North Carolina polling sites closed after a day of low participation for a primary election to shape state and federal government.

    Polls were open Tuesday from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

    According to the North Carolina Board of Elections, 14 percent of voters cast ballots in Tuesday's election. In Mecklenburg County, 7 percent voted.

    • Anson County: 26 percent

    • Avery County: 35 percent

    • Cleveland County: 19 percent

    • Gaston County: 8 percent

    • Iredell County: 12 percent

    • Lincoln County: 21 percent

    • Richmond County: 33 percent

    • Union County: 11 percent

    State Board of Elections director Gary Bartlett said Tuesday he expected turnout to finish slightly above the 2006 election during which only 12 percent of voters participated. That was the lowest primary turnout in recent history, while the 2008 presidential primary recorded the highest turnout at 37 percent.

    To read Q&As with local candidates, click here.

    SLIDESHOW: Trickle Of Voters Show Up To Polls

    VIDEO: D'Annunzio, Johnson Will Have Runoff

    VIDEO: Meck County Sheriff Wins Democratic Primary

    VIDEO: Lincoln County Sheriff Loses Primary

    For complete election results, click here.

    Previous Stories: May 3, 2010: Meck County Sheriff Candidates Hope For Strong Turnout May 3, 2010: NC Senate Democratic Hopefuls Work On Primary Eve April 30, 2010: 11 Hopefuls Vie For Senate Seat April 28, 2010: Political Expert Weighs In On Local Congressional Race April 26, 2010: NC's GOP House Hopefuls: Smaller Government Needed

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    Vote 2010: Trickle Of Voters Decide Key Races

  • Headline Goes Here

    It's time for Trump's doctor to be examined, for VA chief

  • Headline Goes Here

    Travel ban case is justices' first dive into Trump policy

  • Headline Goes Here

    AP Top Political News at 1:35 a.m. EDT

  • Headline Goes Here

    Trump says North Korea agreed to denuclearize. It hasn't.