• 2010: Anson's Stephone Anthony named 'Big 22' player of the year


    WSOC-TV Channel 9 received thousands of on-line votes in Channel 9’s “Big 22” contest and the high-school football player who received the most on-line votes and has now been named as “Player of the Year” is Stephone Anthony from Anson High School in Wadesboro, NC.

    A celebration is being planned at Anson High School on Friday, November 12th where the school will be presented a $1,000 donation check from WSOC-TV for the school scholarship fund, as designated by Principal Charles Murphy and where Stephone will receive a personalized trophy naming him as the “Big 22” Player of the Year.

    SLIDESHOW: Channel 9 Welcomes "Big 22" Five Finalists

    Coaches in the area were asked to nominate five high-school football players from their team and five players from other schools in their conference to be considered for the “Big 22” players to watch. After reviewing the coach’s nominations the final 22 were chosen by Channel 9.

    Out of the top 22 players, the following top five players who received the most on-line votes from the first round of voting and were named as finalists including Anthony were, Chauncey Concepcion-Providence High School, Charlotte, NC, Walter Ellerbe-Richmond Senior High School, Rockingham, NC, Adam Farley-Charlotte Catholic High School, Charlotte, NC, Travis Riley-A.L. Brown High School, Kannapolis, NC.

    Next Up: