CMS, state of South Carolina give Teacher of the Year awards

This week is Teacher Appreciation Week and in honor of the celebration, a district in North Carolina and the state of South Carolina have named their teachers and teaching assistant of the year.

Dotha Howell received the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Teacher Assistant of the Year award. She works at Reid Park Academy.

Imee Idjao is the district’s Teacher of the Year. She teaches third-graders at Villa Heights Elementary.

South Carolina has also announced its statewide teacher of the year. The award went to Deion Jamison of Legacy Early College in Greenville.

Laura Merk was also a finalist -- she’s from Springfield Middle School in Fort Mill. She’s the first teacher from Fort Mill to become a finalist for the award. She’ll still receive $10,000.

(WATCH BELOW: National Teacher of the Year honored at White House)