Biden accepts invitation to be honorary chairman of 2022 Presidents Cup at Quail Hollow Club

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — President Joe Biden has accepted an invitation to be honorary chairman of the 2022 Presidents Cup at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte.

The competition returns to the United States for the 14th staging from Sept. 20-25.

“We are thankful for President Biden’s acceptance of our invitation to serve as Honorary Chairman for the 2022 Presidents Cup with the event’s return to the United States,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan. “The Presidents Cup has a long-standing tradition of hosting world leaders, spanning several decades and many countries across all party lines, and the addition of President Biden to that list of men and women will help promote and grow the event worldwide and further our efforts in unifying people through the game of golf.”

The Presidents Cup is a team match play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers, including 12 from the United States and 12 from around the world. The U.S. Team has won 11 of the 13 previous Presidents Cups.

Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte will be the fifth golf course in the United States to host the prestigious competition.

Previous world leaders who held the position of honorary chairman at the Presidents Cup include:

  • 2019 – Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Australia
  • 2017 – 45th U.S. President, Donald J. Trump
  • 2015 – President Park Geun-hye, South Korea
  • 2013 – 44th U.S. President, Barack Obama
  • 2011 – Prime Minister Julia Gillard, Australia
  • 2009 – 44th U.S. President Barack Obama
  • 2007 – Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Canada
  • 2005 – 43rd U.S. President, George W. Bush
  • 2003 – President Thabo Mbeki, Republic of South Africa
  • 2000 – 42nd U.S. President, William Jefferson Clinton
  • 1998 – Prime Minister John Howard, Australia
  • 1996 – 41st U.S. President, George H.W. Bush
  • 1994 – 38th U.S. President, Gerald R. Ford

Davis Love III will lead the U.S. team as captain for the first time in 2022, as it returns to the U.S., and Trevor Immelman will lead the international team.

(WATCH BELOW: Davis Love III talks Presidents Cup in Charlotte)