• Davidson Day's QB Grier named Mr. Football USA


    DAVIDSON, N.C. - Davidson Day quarterback and Big 22 finalist Will Grier was named Mr. Football USA Thursday after leading his team to three straight state championships.

    The award is voted on by a five-member panel of Student Sports' football experts.

    Will's dad and head coach, Chad Grier, told Channel 9's Tiffany Wright, "I'm a proud daddy, to say the least."

    Grier was referring to both Will and Nash Grier. Nash is his son who is a social media and Vine superstar who travels the country.

    Will Grier becomes the second star from Charlotte to win the award. Independence's Chris Leak won the national player of the year award in 2002.

    In his final game at Davidson Day, Grier threw for 599 yards and seven touchdowns in a 69-28 state championship win over Harrells Christian.

    Grier threw for 4,989 yards and 77 touchdowns this season with only 11 interceptions.  He had 1,251 rush yards and 13 touchdown on the ground.

    Read the full story here.

    Mr. Football USA Players of the Year (All-Time List)

     2013 – Will Grier (Davidson Day, Davidson, N.C.) QB
    2012 – Max Browne (Skyline, Sammamish, Wash.) QB
    2011 – Johnathan Gray (Aledo, Texas) RB
    2010 – Johnathan Gray (Aledo, Texas) RB
    2009 – Dillon Baxter (Mission Bay, San Diego, Calif.) RB/LB
    2008 – Garrett Gilbert (Lake Travis, Austin, Texas) QB
    2007 – Jacory Harris (Northwestern, Miami, Fla.) QB
    2006 – Darren Evans (Warren Central, Indianapolis, Ind.) FB
    2005 – Matthew Stafford (Highland Park, Dallas, Texas) QB
    2004 – Chase Daniel (Carroll, Southlake, Texas) QB
    2003 – Jeff Byers (Loveland, Colo.) OL-DL
    2002 – Chris Leak (Independence, Charlotte, N.C.) QB
    2001 – Vince Young (Madison, Houston, Texas) QB
    2000 – Cedric Benson (Robert E. Lee, Midland, Texas) RB
    1999 – D.J. Williams (De La Salle, Concord, Calif.) RB-LB
    1998 – J.R. House (Nitro, W. Va.) QB
    1997 – Ronald Curry (Hampton, Va.) QB-RB
    1996 – Travis Henry (Frostproof, Fla.) RB
    1995 – Tim Couch (Leslie County, Hyden, Ky.) QB
    1994 – Chris Redman (Male, Louisville, Ky.) QB
    1993 – Peyton Manning (Newman, New Orleans, La.) QB
    1992 – James Allen (Wynnewood, Okla.) RB
    1991 – Steven Davis (Spartanburg, S.C.) RB
    1990 – Derrick Brooks (Washington, Pensacola, Fla.) LB
    1989 – Robert Smith (Euclid, Ohio) RB
    1988 – Terry Kirby (Tabb, Va.) RB
    1987 – Carl Pickens (Murphy, N.C.) WR
    1986 – Emmitt Smith (Escambia, Pensacola, Fla.) RB
    1985 – Jeff George (Warren Central, Indianapolis Ind.) QB
    1984 – Andre Rison (Northwestern, Flint, Mich.) WR-DB
    1983 – Chris Spielman (Washington, Massillon, Ohio) LB
    1982 – Rod Woodson (Snider, Fort Wayne, Ind.) WR-DB
    1981 – Marcus Dupree (Philadelphia, Miss.) RB
    1980 – Bill Fralic (Penn Hills, Pittsburgh, Pa.) OL
    1979 – Herschel Walker (Johnson County, Wrightsville, Ga.) RB
    1978 – Eric Dickerson (Sealy, Texas) RB
    1977 – Marcus Allen (Lincoln, San Diego, Calif.) QB-RB
    1976 – Freeman McNeil (Banning, Wilmington, Calif.) RB
    1975 – Charles White (San Fernando, Calif.) RB
    1974 – Billy Sims (Hooks, Texas) RB
    1973 – Earl Campbell (John Tyler, Tyler, Texas) RB
    1972 – Tony Dorsett (Hopewell, Aliquippa, Pa.) RB
    1971 – Dave Logan (Wheat Ridge, Colo.) WR
    1970 – Pat Haden (Bishop Amat, La Puente, Calif.) QB


    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    Davidson Day's QB Grier named Mr. Football USA