CHARLOTTE — Face coverings will be required in the state of North Carolina starting at 5 p.m. Friday.
Here is everything you need to know about the state’s new mandate.
(Read more Frequently Asked Questions about today’s executive Order and mandatory face coverings.)
- North Carolina defines a face covering as a covering of the nose and mouth that is secured to the head with ties, straps or loops over the ears or is simply wrapped around the lower face.
- According to the Executive Order, an ideal face covering has two or more layers. It can be factory-made, sewn by hand or can be improvised from household items such as scarfs, bandanas, T-shirts, sweatshirts or a towel.
- A face shield that covers the nose and mouth meets the face-covering requirements of North Carolina's Executive Order.
- People are required to wear face coverings inside and outside unless an exception applies.
- Retail businesses: All workers and customers must wear masks when within 6 feet of another person
- Restaurants: All workers must wear masks. Customers must wear masks whenever they are not at their table.
- Personal care, grooming and tattoo businesses: Workers and customers must wear masks when within 6 feet of another person. A customer can take off their mask if they are getting a facial treatment, shave, tattoo or any other service to the part of the head impacted by the mask.
- Schools: Face coverings must be worn by students, staff and visitors at every high school and middle school in the state. They are also required while riding the bus. They are not required at elementary schools, but are encouraged.
- Child care facilities and camps: All workers must wear face coverings. All kids over 11 must wear face coverings when within six feet of another person.
- Transit: All workers and riders on public or private transportation regulated by North Carolina, as well as all people in North Carolina airports, bus and train stations or stops must wear face coverings when they are or may be within 6 feet of another person.
- While masks are required on public transportation, including ride-shares, cabs, vans and shuttles, no customer will be removed from or denied entry to public transportation for failure to wear a face covering.
- Exceptions to the mask mandate: Medical or behavioral conditions; Children under 11; Eating and drinking; Strenuous exercise; When communicating with someone hearing impaired; Giving speeches for broadcast or for an audience; In personal vehicles; Working from home; To secure government or medical services for identification purposes; When safety is at risk; When it impedes the ability to operate equipment or a vehicle; When a child is unable to find a parent due to their mask
- Anyone who declines to wear a face covering is not be required to produce documentation or any other proof of a condition. An honor system is in place.
- Enforcement: Officers are not authorized to criminally enforce the mask requirements against individual workers, customers or patrons. However, citations can be issued to businesses or organizations that fail to enforce the requirement to wear masks. If a business does not allow entry to a worker or customer because they refuse to wear a mask, officers can enforce trespassing laws.
Read Executive Order No. 147.
© 2020 Cox Media Group