5 teams from the Carolinas to play in NCAA tournament

CHARLOTTE — Several teams from across the Carolinas are going dancing as the NCAA tournament teams were announced Sunday evening.

In North Carolina, Duke earned a five-seed after winning the ACC tournament. North Carolina State was awarded the 11th seed, while UNC Asheville landed the 15th seed in the West Region after winning its conference tournament.

North Carolina was a notable team that did not make the tournament after making the championship game last season. They declined an invitation to the National Invitational Tournament.

Furman and the College of Charleston are the two teams from South Carolina that made the tournament.

Duke will take on No. 12 Oral Roberts on Thursday in Orlando. No. 12 College of Charleston will face No. 5 San Diego State, also in Orlando.

No. 13 Furman will play No. 4 Virginia on Thursday as well. No. 15 UNC Asheville will take on No. 2 UCLA.

No. 11 NC State drew No. 6 Creighton on Friday in Denver.

View the full bracket by clicking here.

(WATCH BELOW: Panthers trade up for No. 1 pick in 2023 draft)