New mayor of Monroe decided by coin flip

MONROE, N.C. — The City of Monroe has a new mayor, and the decision was made with a coin toss.

The race between former CMPD Officer Bob Yanacsek and Robert Burns came down to the wire. But on Friday afternoon, Burns became the new mayor of Monroe.

After counting the remaining provisional and absentee ballots, Burns and Yanacsek tied with 970 votes.

Both waived their right for a recount, which led to the coin toss. Yanascek called heads and the coin landed on tails.

Both candidates spoke to Channel 9 after election day, saying they found the scenario amusing and said they trusted the process.

“Whether I win or lose, I think the fact that people always say my vote doesn’t count, this is a perfect example of one vote does count,” Yanacsek told Channel 9′s Evan Donovan.

Burns also reiterated that point.

“It proves more than anything that your vote matters,” he said. “It’s shocking how many people don’t realize how much your voice matters. And that’s the beauty of our democracy is that it absolutely does.”

>> Channel 9 is talking to both candidates. Watch for coverage tonight on Eyewitness News starting at 5 p.m.

Last Ranlo commissioner seat also decided by coin toss

In Ranlo, tails won Ronnie Laws the last commissioner seat after he tied Corey Creech.

Elections officials told Channel′s Ken Lemon one person intentionally submitted a blank ballot, which could have changed the entire outcome of the race. That blank ballot likely set up the chance selection.

Officials said 394 people voted in the election. The two candidates tied for the last available seat with 133 votes each.

One voter submitted a blank ballot. Election workers said the machine wouldn’t accept the ballot until the voter confirmed they were submitting a ballot with no votes.

Election officials said it’s been at least 18 years since chance was used to decide a winner in Gaston County, making Friday’s coin toss historic.

(VIDEO: Voters decide future for city council, mayoral seats, and school board)